Функционирует при финансовой поддержке
Федерального агентства по печати и массовым коммуникациям
Об институте Как получить грант Премия "Читай Россию/Read Russia"
Вход на сайт



Call for nominations for the Read Russia Prize 2017-2018

June 20, 2017



Beginning June 20, 2017, through March 31, 2018, we are accepting nominations for Read Russia Prize (


The Read Russia Prize is the only Russian award that recognizes outstanding translations of works of Russian literature into foreign languages. The Read Russia Prize was established in 2011 by the Institute for Literary Translation, an autonomous nonprofit organization. The competition is conducted biennially with support from the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communication (Rospechat’) and the Boris N. Yeltsin Presidential Center. The prize is awarded to a translator (or group of translators) for outstanding translations of prose and poetry works from Russian into a foreign language and published by a foreign publisher during the previous two years.


The Read Russia Prize aims to:

·         popularize works of Russian literature,

·         encourage foreign translators who translate Russian literature into other languages,

·         encourage foreign publishers who publish translations of Russian literature, and

·         strengthen and develop cultural ties between Russia and other countries.


The Read Russia Prize is awarded in the following categories:


Nineteenth-Century Classic Russian Literature

Twentieth-Century Russian Literature (works written before 1990)

Contemporary Russian Literature (works written after 1990)

Poetry (classic and contemporary).


Prize winners in each category are the translator(s) and the publisher that released the book. Winners receive special award certificates and medallions as well as monetary awards: €5000 to the translator(s) and €3000 as a grant to the publisher to cover expenses for the translation of another work of Russian literature per agreement with the Prize founder.


Candidates for the Read Russia Prize can be nominated by publishers; professional associations; educational, cultural, and academic institutions; as well as individuals, including the translators themselves.


In 2018, the Read Russia Prize will be awarded for translations of works of Russian literature in the following languages: English, Arabic, Spanish, Italian, Chinese, German, Polish, French, and Japanese. The language list can be extended. Translations of Russian literature published in 2016 and 2017 are eligible for submission.  The Read Russia Prize will be awarded in September, 2018, in the course of the Fifth International Congress of Literary Translators in Moscow, Russia.


How to apply:


The application package should include two print copies of the nominated translation and a nomination letter containing the following:

  1. Information of the nominator – a translator or an organization  – including all contact details (phone numbers and mailing address);
  2. Translator’s Curriculum Vitae with the list of publications;
  3. A written consent of the translator to be nominated for the Read Russia Prize (if it is not a self-nomination);
  4. A detailed review of the translated book written by a professional translator or a Slavic languages scholar.


The timeline of applications: June 20, 2017 – March 31, 2018.


Members of the Read Russia Prize’s Board of trustees are well-known Russian government, cultural, and public figures: Petr Aven, Naina Yeltsina, Mikhail Piotrovskii, Viacheslav Nikonov, Kirill Razlogov, Mikhail Seslavinskii, Natalia Solzhenitsyna, and Vladimir Spivakov.


The Read Russia Prize Jury includes leading translators, scholars, and literary critics.    


Winners of the Read Russia Prize


First Season


Second Season

2012 -2014

Third Session


Nineteenth-Century Classic Russian Literature

Víctor Gallego Ballesteros, Spain, for his translation of Lev Tolstoy’s novel Anna Karenina. Publisher: Alba.


Alejandro Ariel Gonzales, Argentina, for his translation of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s novella The Double. Publisher: Eterna Cadencia.

Joaquín Fernández-Valdés (Spain) for his translation of Ivan Turgenev’s Fathers and Sons

Publisher: Alba

Twentieth-Century Russian Literature (works written before 1990)

John Elsworth, Great Britain, for his translation of Andrei Bely’s novel Petersburg. Publisher: Pushkin Press.

Alexander Nitzberg, Germany-Austria, for his translation of Mikhail Bulgakov’s novel Master and Margarita. Publisher: Galiani Berlin.

Selma Ancira (Mexico) for her translation of stories by twentieth-century writers (Tsvetaeva, Pasternak, Blok, Gumilev, Mandelstam, Bunin, Bulgakov, and Berberova) titled Paisaje caprichoso de la literatura rusa

Publisher: Fondo de Cultura Económica

Contemporary Russian Literature (works written after 1990)

Hélène Henry-Safier, France, for her translation of Dmitrii Bykov’s Pasternak. Publisher: Fayard.

Marian Schwartz, United States, for her translation of Leonid Yuzefovich’s novel Harlequin’s Costume. Publisher: Glagoslav Publications.

Lisa Hayden (USA) for her translation of Eugene Vodolazkin’s Laurus

Publisher: Oneworld Publications


Alessandro Niero, Italy, for his translation of Dmitrii Prigov’s Thirty Three Texts. Publisher: Terra Ferma.

Liu Wenfei, China, for his translation of poetry by Alexander Pushkin. Publisher: China Yuhang Publishing House.

Claudia Scandura (Italy) for her translation of Sergei Gandlevsky’s Rust and Yellow. Poems of 198-2011.

Publisher: Gattomerlino


The Institute of Translation signs grant agreements for translations of other works of Russian literature by different authors with the winning publishers.


For more information, please, contact the Organizing Committee:

23, Bolshaya Polyanka St., bld.3, Moscow 119180, Russian Federation.

Phone: +7-495-229-75-89, e-mail:



3 456789
10 111213141516
17 181920212223
24 252627282930


7 8910111213
14 151617181920
21 222324252627
28 2930
© институт перевода 2012